In the County Courts of the State of Oregon for Grant, Harney, Malheur and Wheeler Counties; and the Boards of County Commissioners of Baker, Deschutes, Jefferson, Lake and Wasco Counties

Minutes of the Joint Special Session

January 4, 2018

The County Courts and Boards of Commissioners convened in a Joint Special Session at the Grant County Regional Airport, in John Day, Oregon, at 1:00 p.m., on January 4, 2018 for the sole purpose of filling the vacancy in the Legislative Assembly, State Senate District 30. All Commissioners were present either in person or via telephone.

Deschutes County Commissioner Tammy Baney served as Chair.

Harney County Clerk Derrin (Dag) Robinson was selected to serve as recording secretary and Jefferson County Administrative Officer Jeff Rasmussen served as timer. Both gentlemen agreed to tally the votes for the selection.

The nominees of the Republican Party were Cliff Bentz, Suzan Ellis Jones and Eric Wattenburg. Mr. Bentz and Dr. Wattenburg were present, and Ms. Ellis Jones was not.

The Commissioners agreed upon interview questions of the nominees, and agreed that each nominee would have 2.5 minutes to answer each question.

Each county asked their proposed question of both nominees in attendance.

Upon completion of the interviews, Commissioner Baney called for the vote. Each Commissioner was provided a sheet of paper to list their name, and the name of the nominee in which they voted for.

Mr. Robinson and Mr. Rasmussen tallied the votes. The official list of votes cast is attached. See instrument # 2018-0087

Mr. Bentz received 73.59, Ms. Jones received 4.66 and Dr. Wattenburg received 5.66.

Commissioner Baney passed around the Statement of vote tabulation selecting Cliff Bentz to fill the vacancy for the individual Commissioner's signatures, and then sent the signature sheets to the counties attending via phone.

There being no further discussion, the meeting adjourned at 4:00 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Derrin (Dag) Robinson, C.C.C. Harney County Clerk

** Malheur County Judge Dan Joyce, Commissioner Don Hodge, and Commissioner Larry Wilson participated telephonic from the Courthouse in Vale. Also present was Harney County Commissioner Patty Dorroh, Larry Meyer of the Argus Observer, John Braese of the Malheur Enterprise, and Andrea Dominguez of Representative Cliff Bentz's office.